Can I bring a power bank on a plane? 2026 rules by airline
Every row read on the airline's own page. Last checked Oct 4, 2026.
By airlineFind your WhWhat every airline requiresAirline detailsWhy it changed
Power bank rules by airline
| Airline | Power banks | Watt-hours | Overhead bin | Use to charge devices | Recharge on board |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southwest | 1 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Only where visible | Not allowed |
| United | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval | Not allowed | not stated | Not allowed |
| American | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Only where visible | Not allowed |
| Delta | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Not during taxi, takeoff or landing | Not allowed |
| Alaska | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Not during taxi, takeoff or landing | Not allowed |
| Hawaiian | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Not during taxi, takeoff or landing | Not allowed |
| JetBlue | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Frontier | no limit (personal use) * | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval * | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Allegiant | 20 | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval * | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Emirates | 1 | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval * | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Air Canada | 2 * | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval | not stated | Advised against * | Not allowed * |
| British Airways | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh, no exceptions | Not allowed | Advised against * | Not allowed |
| Lufthansa | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Singapore Airlines | 2 | ≤ 100 Wh; 100–160 Wh with approval | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
* Not on the airline's page; the ICAO (international rules) or FAA (US rules) rule is shown instead. "No exceptions" means the airline offers no approval for power banks over 100 Wh, even though spare batteries up to 160 Wh may be allowed with approval.
First, find your power bank's watt-hours
Airlines measure power banks in watt-hours (Wh). Most labels print it ("37Wh"). If yours only shows mAh, multiply the battery's mAh by its voltage (usually 3.6–3.85 V) and divide by 1,000:
Wh = mAh × V ÷ 1000 → 20,000 mAh × 3.7 V ÷ 1000 = 74 WhWhat every airline requires
- Carry-on only. Spare lithium batteries, including power banks, are forbidden in checked baggage (FAA, TSA, ICAO). If your cabin bag is gate-checked, take the bank out.
- Up to 100 Wh needs no approval. 100–160 Wh needs the airline's approval, and many airlines refuse it for power banks. Over 160 Wh can't fly on passenger planes at all, which rules out almost every portable power station.
- Protect the terminals: original packaging, a case, or tape over the ports.
- No recalled or damaged batteries. The FAA forbids them. Check yours on our power bank recall list.
- Some airlines refuse banks without a readable rating (British Airways, Emirates).
Airline details and sources
Southwest
“each Customer is limited to one power bank (effective April 20, 2026)”
“must not be placed in the overhead bin … and should be stored in a personal item under the seat in front of you”
“when in use it must be visible (not stored in a bag)”
Also: 'must not exceed 100 watt-hours'; 'may not be charged onboard using in-seat power'. No approval path for larger power banks. Rule in effect since Apr 20, 2026. Source: Southwest's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
United
“Each passenger can bring up to two portable chargers. They should be kept on you or in your personal item during the flight. They cannot be placed in overhead bins or recharged using aircraft power.”
“Lithium‑ion batteries can't exceed 100 watt hours.”
“You can carry up to two lithium batteries larger than 100 watt hours but not exceeding 160 watt hours in your carry-on.”
The 100–160 Wh allowance is written for lithium batteries generally and doesn't mention approval; FAA requires airline approval. No rule on using a bank in flight. Source: United's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
American
“Limit 2 portable chargers per passenger while onboard”
“Each charger must not exceed 100 watt hours (Wh)”
“Keep portable chargers within reach and visible while in use”
'Do not … use in seat power outlets to recharge portable chargers' and 'store portable chargers in overhead bins or other enclosed spaces'. Large portable power banks (EcoFlow, Jackery, Bluetti…) are banned entirely. Enforced from 2026-05-01 (KCTV). Rule in effect since May 1, 2026. Source: American's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Delta
“Lithium batteries or power banks (i.e. portable chargers) may not be stored in an overhead bin.”
“power banks must not be recharged on board the aircraft or be used to recharge a portable electronic device during taxi, take-off, landing.”
“No more than two power banks may be carried per person, and they may not exceed an aggregate total of 100 Wh each, with no exceptions.”
Limit 20 spare batteries per person. Two-bank limit from 2026-05-01 (KCTV). Rule in effect since May 1, 2026. Source: Delta's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Alaska
“Rated at 100 wh. per power banks. No more than 2 power banks per guest”
“Must not be stored in the overhead bin or closet”
“101-160 Wh. or higher forbidden from transport on AAG operated flights.”
Also: 'Placed within arm's reach', 'Must not be charged using in seat power', 'May not be used during taxi/takeoff/landing'. 'Spare batteries between 101-160 wh. and Power Banks are limited to 2 per guest' may be a combined cap. Applies to all Alaska Air Group flights (Alaska, Hawaiian, Horizon). Source: Alaska's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Hawaiian
“Rated at 100 wh. per power banks. No more than 2 power banks per guest”
“Must not be stored in the overhead bin or closet”
“101-160 Wh. or higher forbidden from transport on AAG operated flights.”
Shared Alaska Air Group policy (page title: 'Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines'). Power-bank row added between late May and late September 2026. Source: Hawaiian's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
JetBlue
“No more than two power banks may be carried per person.”
“Power banks must be stored under the seat and must not be stored in the overhead bin.”
“Must not be used to recharge a portable electronic device while onboard the aircraft.”
Also: 'The power bank must not exceed a 100Wh rating' (no approval path); 'Must not be recharged while onboard the aircraft'. jetblue.com/help/batteries agrees. Source: JetBlue's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Frontier
“Spare lithium batteries are not allowed in checked baggage.”
Frontier publishes no power-bank-specific rule (FAQ sitemap, baggage pages and Contract of Carriage R2 09/14/26 searched). FAA rules apply; secondary claims of a Frontier two-bank or bin rule are not on Frontier's pages. Source: Frontier's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Allegiant
“Spare (uninstalled) lithium ion and lithium metal batteries must be carried in carry-on baggage only.”
“Batteries with more than 160 watt-hours are forbidden from transport.”
“Lithium ion (rechargeable) batteries: rating less than 100 watt hours (Wh) per battery (20 maximum)”
Allegiant never says 'power bank'; its spare-battery row (20 maximum) covers them as FAA does. The PDF dates from 2025-02 and predates the 2026 changes. 100–160 Wh isn't addressed (FAA approval rule applies). Watch for a merged policy after the Sun Country acquisition. Source: Allegiant's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Spirit
Spirit stopped flying on May 2, 2026. If you hold an old booking, check which airline is operating your flight.
Emirates
“Emirates customers may carry one power bank that is under 100 Watt Hours.”
“Power banks may not be used to charge any personal devices onboard.”
“Power banks may not be placed in the overhead stowage bin onboard the aircraft and must now be placed in the seat pocket or in a bag under the seat in front of you.”
Also: 'Charging a power bank using the aircraft's power supply is not permitted'; 'All power banks accepted for transport must have capacity rating information available.' No 100–160 Wh route stated (ICAO's operator-approval rule shown instead). Rule in effect since Oct 1, 2025. Source: Emirates's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Air Canada
“Spare cells or battery packs normally used for camera equipment, mobile phones, drones, power tools, power banks, etc.”
“Lithium-ion cell battery packs - with a rating of less than 100 Wh each”
“Maximum of 2 individually protected spare lithium-ion batteries per passenger, pending approval by Air Canada airport agents.”
No power-bank count, bin or in-flight rule on the page; ICAO's apply on international flights (domestic adoption by Transport Canada not verified). Air Canada bans recalled Anker A1647, Zolo A1681 and Zolo A1689 on board. 100–160 Wh approval is given by airport agents. Source: Air Canada's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
British Airways
“Up to 2 power banks per person”
“Aircraft seat power supplies are to be used exclusively for charging personal electronic devices (PEDs), not power banks.”
“Power banks must not exceed 100Wh”
Read from the Wayback capture of 2026-09-08 (the live site showed a queue page on 2026-10-04). 'Power banks must display capacity rating information'; stored in the seat pocket or a bag under the seat. BA's 100–160 Wh approval form 'is not for power banks'. Max 4 spares, of which up to 2 power banks. Source: British Airways's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Lufthansa
“Item restriction: max. 2 power banks per passenger”
“Charging and using power banks is prohibited. An exception is made for use with approved medical devices.”
“Power banks must not be stowed in the overhead locker above the seats.”
Read from the Wayback capture of 2026-06-22 (lufthansa.com blocked automated reads on 2026-10-04). Over 100 up to 160 Wh needs airline approval, registered with the Service Center. Applies across the Lufthansa Group (SWISS, Austrian, Brussels, Eurowings…) from 2026-01-15. Rule in effect since Jan 15, 2026. Source: Lufthansa's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Singapore Airlines
“Maximum of 2 power banks per passenger. Any additional power banks will not be allowed.”
“Usage and charging of power banks are not allowed throughout the duration of the flight”
“Power banks should not be stored in the cabin’s overhead compartments.”
From 2026-04-15 (CAAS rule for all flights departing Singapore). 100–160 Wh: max 2, with prior approval via SIA's form (photo of the rating + UN 38.3 documentation). Rule in effect since Apr 15, 2026. Source: Singapore Airlines's page, read Oct 4, 2026.
Other international airlines: ICAO
“no more than two power banks may be carried per person”
Technical Instructions (Doc 9284) 2025–2026, Addendum No. 1, applicable from 2026-03-27. The two-bank limit is absolute (ICAO information note). 100–160 Wh with operator approval, at most 2 such batteries (banks and spares share the cap). Nothing over 160 Wh. Charging devices FROM a bank is advised against, not banned. Overhead bins are not addressed. Source: ICAO Technical Instructions, Addendum No. 1.
Other US flights: FAA
“Spare (uninstalled) lithium ion and lithium metal batteries, including power banks and cell phone battery charging cases, must be carried in carry-on baggage only.”
PackSafe, last updated 2026-08-11. Quantity: none for most batteries, for personal use; airlines may set stricter power-bank counts. Damaged or recalled batteries are prohibited. Terminals must be protected. 49 CFR 175.10(a)(18). No rule on bins, in-flight use or onboard charging. TSA (tsa.gov 'Power Banks') agrees: carry-on yes, checked no. Source: FAA PackSafe.
Why the rules changed
A power bank that overheats in a bag in the overhead bin can burn unnoticed, which is why airlines want banks where passengers can see them. ICAO added a two-bank limit and a ban on recharging banks on board to its Technical Instructions, applicable from Mar 27, 2026. Several airlines had already gone further: Emirates has allowed only one bank, with no use on board, since October 2025, and Lufthansa Group banned using banks on board from January 2026. US carriers followed in April and May 2026.
Rules change, sometimes with little notice. Check with your airline before you fly. Power Bank Check updates this table and the app's rules from the same file.